On to Dharamsala….

Namaste everyone,

The heart wants more.

Riding in a rickshaw on Camel’s Back Road, Mussoorie.

A very sad sight in such a beautiful country – trash that is collected is simply dumped down the side of hills.

This was a rough week.  I was sick in bed Thursday and Friday and can honestly say that I cannot remember feeling this horrible – ever.  I woke up Wednesday feeling nauseas, with fever, chills, and my entire body ached as if I had just completed an Ironman the day before.  Luckily, I traveled with a dose of antibiotics and a few Aruyvedic meds that my Professor handed me before my departure.  I also found some local ibuprofen from my Australian neighbors – great people.  It’s now Friday and I am feeling better, but not quite 100%.
Classes are coming along and I have progressed through chapter 6 of the Landour Language School text book.  Definitely not as fast as most of the other students, however I would put my grammar and writing up against any of them   I am in it to retain it, that’s the goal!
Other than the apparent “Delhi Belly” putting a kung-foo grip on my stomach this week, I have been excitedly making final preparations for my trip to Dharamsala this Sunday morning.  I have made a couple key contacts in the community and have lined myself up with a volunteering gig teaching conversational English to Tibetans in the afternoons, providing they are not all in attendance for the Dalai Lama’s lectures this coming week.  I found a little guest house that is just a 10 minute walk from the Main Temple in Dharamsala, which will be perfect for my “home base’ during my stay.  His Holiness is in residence this week and will be delivering a three day lecture on Vajryana Buddhism Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.  I was fortunate enough to be able to secure my place during these lectures through the person who helped organize my meeting with H.H. two years ago in Cedar Falls, Iowa.  It will wonderful to have the entire to week to take everything in and hopefully learn how Tibetans are using social media to from and express their opinions critical to their government in exile.
Next stop, Dharamsala, India – home to His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama and the Tibetan government in exile….

Thomas

Leave a Reply

